Laggan Rhye biography

Current band members

Jos van Halbeek : guitars Jos Winkelmolen : drums

Armin Geisler: keyboards, lead vocals, melodies, mastering

Aschwin Geisler: bass guitars, lyrics, music composer

History

The band originates from a school band called Fuse that existed in the years 1980 to 1986. The two original members, Armin and Aschwin Geisler, played along with friends. In different settings the band played covers and developed their own style. It became more serious and in 1990 the band decided to playing own music.

1991. With Ernest Smit (guitar), John Hamers (keyboards), Jos Winkelmolen (drums) and Aschwin Geisler (bass guitar) instrumental songs were recorded. After five years their first album was released in 1996: "Yet Not Yonder".

1996. Armin rejoined the band as keyboardist and lead singer replacing John. The second album took four years and was released in 2000 as "4 Words".

2000. Four years work to produce the third album "In Total Silence", released in 2004.

2005. Ernest left the band after which Laggan Rhye continued as a trio formation. After two years the band's fourth album "A Word In Heinsight" was released in 2006.

2006. Still with three band members, Laggan Rhye has been working on new pieces of music. When Jos van Halbeek joined as guitarist in 2013, the musical base was complete again. Eleven years were needed to build a ten songs comprising fifth album "Silhouette" in 2017.

From 2013 to 2016 Aschwin Geisler has worked on a concept album. It is thematical and is called "Miles Away From Truth". The band began rehearsing and recording this album from 2016 onwards. At last the album was released on September 25th 2018, a day with a full moon, referring to the important role of the moon in several songs of the album.